Ural State University of Architecture and Art

ISSN 1990-4126

Authors

Tokarev
Artur
G.

PhD. (Architecture), Associate Professor,
Moscow State University of Civil Engineering,

Russia, Moscow, e-mail: tokarev69@inbox.ru

PUBLICATIONS

Tokarev Artur G., Klochko Asmik R.
THREE COMPLETED PROJECTS OF Kh. Kh. CHALKHUSH'YAN IN ROSTOV-ON-DON AS A REFLECTION OF CHANGES IN THE SOVIET ARCHITECTURE OF THE PRE-WAR PERIOD

Architecton: Proceedings of Higher Education №1 (69) March, 2020

The article is dedicated to the creative activities of Kh.Chalkhush'yan, one of Rostov’s leading architects in the 1920-1930s. Three realized projects are used as an example to retrace the changes characteristic of the Soviet architectural urban planning activities over that period – from Constructivism to Post-Constructivism and Historicism. The article demonstrates how these changes were happening in Rostov-on-Don and how the architect’s creative method was changing along. The article draws attention to a gradual character of changes in Rostov’s architectural urban planning activities during the transition period of the mid-1930s; many projects carried both signs of a renascent traditionality and outgoing Constructivism. It is concluded that the radical and painful turn from Constructivism to the re-assimilation of historical heritage in Soviet architecture meant for many architects of the older generation a return to the familiar project method characteristic of the pre-revolutionary practice.

Copy link

http://archvuz.ru/en/2020_1/6/

Citation link

Tokarev A.G., Klochko A.R. THREE COMPLETED PROJECTS OF Kh. Kh. CHALKHUSH'YAN IN ROSTOV-ON-DON AS A REFLECTION OF CHANGES IN THE SOVIET ARCHITECTURE OF THE PRE-WAR PERIOD [Online] //Architecton: Proceedings of Higher Education. – 2020. – №1(69). – URL: http://archvuz.ru/en/2020_1/6 

Tokarev Artur G.
BETWEEN TRADITION AND INNOVATION: THE CREATIVITY OF THE CIVIL ENGINEER М.N. KONDRATYEV IN ROSTOV-ON-DO

Architecton: Proceedings of Higher Education №4 (68) December, 2019

The article reviews the creativity of the civil engineer М.N. Kondratyev in Rostov-on-Don in the 1920s. Kondratyev’s works are analyzed for the first time from the perspective of interactions between tradition and innovation in architecture.

Copy link

http://archvuz.ru/en/2019_4/5/

Citation link

Tokarev A.G. BETWEEN TRADITION AND INNOVATION: THE CREATIVITY OF THE CIVIL ENGINEER М.N. KONDRATYEV IN ROSTOV-ON-DO [Online] //Architecton: Proceedings of Higher Education. – 2019. – №4(68). – URL: http://archvuz.ru/en/2019_4/5 

Tokarev Artur G.
TRADE UNIONS HOUSE IN ROSTOV-ON-DON. HISTORY OF CONSTRUCTION, CHARACTERISTIC FEATURES OF THE ARCHITECTURAL AND URBAN PLANNING SOLUTION

Architecton: Proceedings of Higher Education №1 (65) March, 2019

The building of the Trade Unions House in Rostov-on-Don is one of the most significant pieces of architecture in southern Russia reflecting the diverse tendencies in national architecture in the 1920s. The study is aimed at expanding historical knowledge of how the Trade Unions House was designed and built based on new historical facts and archival materials; and at revealing the characteristic features of this outstanding example of Soviet architecture.

Copy link

http://archvuz.ru/en/2019_1/7/

Citation link

Tokarev, A. G. TRADE UNIONS HOUSE IN ROSTOV-ON-DON. HISTORY OF CONSTRUCTION, CHARACTERISTIC FEATURES OF THE ARCHITECTURAL AND URBAN PLANNING SOLUTION // Architecton: Proceedings of Higher Education. – 2019. – №1(65). – URL: http://archvuz.ru/en/2019_1/7 

Tokarev Artur G.
M.GORKY DRAMA THEATRE IN ROSTOV-ON-DON: REVISITING THE ISSUE OF VISUAL IMAGE AND TOWN-PLANNING SOLUTION

Architecton: Proceedings of Higher Education №3 (43) September, 2013

The Academic Drama Theatre named after Maxim Gorky in Rostov-on-Don (V.A Tschuko, V.G. Gelfreich, 1930-35) is one of the architectural masterpieces of Soviet avant-garde. However, its town-planning solution, visual imagery and functional arrangement are based on both advanced solutions of that period and traditions of the regular town-planning era.

Copy link

http://archvuz.ru/en/2013_3/13/

Citation link

Tokarev A.G. M.GORKY DRAMA THEATRE IN ROSTOV-ON-DON: REVISITING THE ISSUE OF VISUAL IMAGE AND TOWN-PLANNING SOLUTION [Online] //Architecton: Proceedings of Higher Education. – 2013. – №3(43). – URL: http://archvuz.ru/en/2013_3/13 

Tokarev Artur G.
CREATIVE ACHIEVEMENTS OF CAPITAL-CITY ARCHITECTS IN ROSTOV-ON-DON DURING THE SOVIET PERIOD

Architecton: Proceedings of Higher Education №2 (34) June, 2011

It is difficult to overestimate the role of both capital cities, Moscow and Leningrad, in the architectural development of Rostov-on-Don in the 20th century. In that process, the decisive factor was not the number of visiting architects taking part in design work for Rostov but the quality and originality of the projects, each of which would become a landmark and, as a rule, one of the best of its time.

By the beginning of the Soviet period, a whole team of local architects were practicing in Rostov, who had received education before the 1917 revolution. It is owing to their efforts and creative potential that the built environment and the identity of the city formed by the turn of the century. Almost all architects stayed in the city after the revolution and continued with their creativity in a new social context. The article reviews the results of visiting, rather than local, architects and their influence on the architectural and planning practice in Rostov because just capital-city architects brought advanced professional ideas and introduced them to the creative community of the city.

The urban planning development of Rostov during the Soviet period was defined by projects of such town-planners as S.S.Shestakov, A.P.Ivanitsky, and V.N.Semenov.

The development of Rostov was influenced by realized and competition projects of such architects as I.A.Golosov, P.A.Golosov, M.Ya.Ginzburg, I.A.Fomin, B.A.Korshunov, V.A.Shchuko, V.G.Gelfreikh, G.B.Barkhin, A.Z.Grinberg, A.V.Vlasov, N.A.Trotsky, A.V.Barulin, V.S.Kubasov.

The professional work of leading capital-city architects translated advanced trends in architecture into the architectural life of provincial cities, which is fully applicable to Rostov-on-Don. The design work of each of the capital-city professionals in Rostov-on-Don was accompanied by the emergence of an architectural masterpiece irrespective of whether it would be realized or remain on paper. Competition projects, as well as constructed buildings, acted as a sort of quality reference standard by which the community of local architects was guided.

Copy link

http://archvuz.ru/en/2011_2/10/

Citation link

Tokarev A.G. CREATIVE ACHIEVEMENTS OF CAPITAL-CITY ARCHITECTS IN ROSTOV-ON-DON DURING THE SOVIET PERIOD [Online] //Architecton: Proceedings of Higher Education. – 2011. – №2(34). – URL: http://archvuz.ru/en/2011_2/10 

див для текста

Уральский государственный архитектурно-художественный университет

ISSN 1990-4126

Токарев
Артур
Георгиевич

кандидат архитектуры, доцент,
ФГБОУ ВО «Национальный исследовательский Московский государственный строительный университет»,

Россия, Москва, e-mail: tokarev69@inbox.ru

ПУБЛИКАЦИИ

Токарев Артур Георгиевич, Клочко Асмик Рубеновна
ТРИ РЕАЛИЗОВАННЫХ ПРОЕКТА Х.Х. ЧАЛХУШЬЯНА В РОСТОВЕ-НА-ДОНУ КАК ОТРАЖЕНИЕ ИЗМЕНЕНИЙ В СОВЕТСКОЙ АРХИТЕКТУРЕ ДОВОЕННОГО ПЕРИОДА

Архитектон: известия вузов. №1 (69) Март, 2020

Статья посвящена творчеству одного из ведущих ростовских архитекторов Х.Х. Чалхушьяна 1920–1930-х гг. На примере трех реализованных объектов прослеживаются все характерные для советской архитектурно-градостроительной деятельности изменения – от конструктивизма к постконструктивизму и историзму. Показано, как эти изменения происходили в Ростове-на-Дону и как менялся творческий метод самого архитектора. Отмечено, что в архитектурно-градостроительной деятельности Ростова переходного периода середины 1930-х гг. изменения происходили постепенно, многие проекты несли в своей основе как следы возрождающейся традиции, так и уходящего в прошлое конструктивизма. Делается вывод, что радикальный и болезненный поворот в советской архитектуре от конструктивизма к освоению исторического наследия для многих архитекторов старшего поколения был этапом возвращения к привычному по дореволюционной практике проектному методу.

Скопировать ссылку

http://archvuz.ru/2020_1/6/

Ссылка для цитирования статьи

Токарев А.Г., Клочко А.Р. ТРИ РЕАЛИЗОВАННЫХ ПРОЕКТА Х.Х. ЧАЛХУШЬЯНА В РОСТОВЕ-НА-ДОНУ КАК ОТРАЖЕНИЕ ИЗМЕНЕНИЙ В СОВЕТСКОЙ АРХИТЕКТУРЕ ДОВОЕННОГО ПЕРИОДА [Электронный ресурс] / А.Г. Токарев, А.Р. Клочко //Архитектон: известия вузов. – 2020. – №1(69). – URL: http://archvuz.ru/2020_1/6 

Токарев Артур Георгиевич
МЕЖДУ ТРАДИЦИЯМИ И НОВАЦИЯМИ: ТВОРЧЕСТВО ГРАЖДАНСКОГО ИНЖЕНЕРА М.Н. КОНДРАТЬЕВА В РОСТОВЕ-НА-ДОНУ

Архитектон: известия вузов. №4 (68) Декабрь, 2019

Статья посвящена анализу особенностей творчества гражданского инженера М.Н. Кондратьева в Ростове-на-Дону в 1920-е гг. Впервые подробно анализируются работы Кондратьева в контексте проблематики взаимодействия традиций и новаций в архитектуре.

Скопировать ссылку

http://archvuz.ru/2019_4/5/

Ссылка для цитирования статьи

Токарев А.Г. МЕЖДУ ТРАДИЦИЯМИ И НОВАЦИЯМИ: ТВОРЧЕСТВО ГРАЖДАНСКОГО ИНЖЕНЕРА М.Н. КОНДРАТЬЕВА В РОСТОВЕ-НА-ДОНУ [Электронный ресурс] / А.Г. Токарев //Архитектон: известия вузов. – 2019. – №4(68). – URL: http://archvuz.ru/2019_4/5 

Токарев Артур Георгиевич
ДВОРЕЦ ТРУДА В РОСТОВЕ-НА-ДОНУ. ИСТОРИЯ СТРОИТЕЛЬСТВА, ОСОБЕННОСТИ АРХИТЕКТУРНО-ГРАДОСТРОИТЕЛЬНОГО РЕШЕНИЯ

Архитектон: известия вузов. №1 (65) Март, 2019

Здание Дворца труда в Ростове-на-Дону – одно из знаковых произведений на юге России, отразившее разнообразные тенденции отечественной архитектуры 1920-х гг. Проведенное исследование имело цель на основе новых исторических фактов и архивных материалов расширить знание об истории проектирования и строительства Дворца труда, выявить особенности этого неординарного памятника советской архитектуры.

Скопировать ссылку

http://archvuz.ru/2019_1/7/

Ссылка для цитирования статьи

Токарев, А. Г. ДВОРЕЦ ТРУДА В РОСТОВЕ-НА-ДОНУ. ИСТОРИЯ СТРОИТЕЛЬСТВА, ОСОБЕННОСТИ АРХИТЕКТУРНО-ГРАДОСТРОИТЕЛЬНОГО РЕШЕНИЯ [Электронный ресурс] /А. Г. Токарев //Архитектон: известия вузов. – 2019. – №1(65). – URL: http://archvuz.ru/2019_1/7 

Токарев Артур Георгиевич
ДРАМАТИЧЕСКИЙ ТЕАТР ИМ. М. ГОРЬКОГО В РОСТОВЕ-НА-ДОНУ К ВОПРОСУ ОБ ОСОБЕННОСТЯХ ФОРМАЛЬНО-ОБРАЗНОЙ СИСТЕМЫ И ГРАДОСТРОИТЕЛЬНОГО РЕШЕНИЯ

Архитектон: известия вузов. №3 (43) Сентябрь, 2013

Драматический театр им. М. Горького в Ростове-на-Дону (В.А. Щуко, В.Г. Гельфрейх, 1930 – 1935 гг.) – один из шедевров архитектуры советского авангарда. Однако в основании его градостроительного решения, формально-образной системы, функциональной организации заложены как передовые для того времени идеи, так и традиции, восходящие к эпохе регулярного градостроительства.

Скопировать ссылку

http://archvuz.ru/2013_3/13/

Ссылка для цитирования статьи

Токарев А.Г. ДРАМАТИЧЕСКИЙ ТЕАТР ИМ. М. ГОРЬКОГО В РОСТОВЕ-НА-ДОНУ К ВОПРОСУ ОБ ОСОБЕННОСТЯХ ФОРМАЛЬНО-ОБРАЗНОЙ СИСТЕМЫ И ГРАДОСТРОИТЕЛЬНОГО РЕШЕНИЯ [Электронный ресурс] /А.Г. Токарев //Архитектон: известия вузов. – 2013. – №3(43). – URL: http://archvuz.ru/2013_3/13 

Токарев Артур Георгиевич
ТВОРЧЕСТВО СТОЛИЧНЫХ АРХИТЕКТОРОВ В РОСТОВЕ-НА-ДОНУ СОВЕТСКОГО ВРЕМЕНИ

Архитектон: известия вузов. №2 (34) Июнь, 2011

В статье рассмотрены результаты проектной деятельности ведущих столичных архитекторов в Ростове-на-Дону советского периода, их влияние на пространственно-планировочную структуру и застройку крупнейшего города юга страны.

Скопировать ссылку

http://archvuz.ru/2011_2/10/

Ссылка для цитирования статьи

Токарев А.Г. ТВОРЧЕСТВО СТОЛИЧНЫХ АРХИТЕКТОРОВ В РОСТОВЕ-НА-ДОНУ СОВЕТСКОГО ВРЕМЕНИ [Электронный ресурс] /А.Г. Токарев //Архитектон: известия вузов. – 2011. – №2(34). – URL: http://archvuz.ru/2011_2/10 

див для текста